

Special Electors Meeting Minutes Wednesday 24 April 2024

00000

Document Set ID: 5380093 Version: 2, Version Date: 30/04/2024



MINUTES

Minutes of a Special Electors Meeting held in the Undalup Room, Administration Building, Southern Drive, Busselton, on Wednesday 24 April 2024 at 5:30pm.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1. OFFICIAL OPENING	3
2. ATTENDANCE	3
3. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING	4
4. MOTIONS BY ELECTORS	5
5. CLOSURE	8



1. OFFICIAL OPENING

The meeting opened at 5:32pm.

The Mayor welcomed Elected Members, staff, guests and members of the public to the Special Electors Meeting of 24 April 2024.

The Mayor acknowledged the Wadandi and Bibbulmun people as the traditional custodians of this region and paid respects to Elders past and present.

This meeting was audio recorded for minute taking purposes and was live streamed on the City of Busselton YouTube channel.

2. ATTENDANCE

PRESIDING MEMBER	MEMBERS
Mayor Phill Cronin	Cr Anne Ryan Deputy Mayor
	Cr Val Kaigg
	Cr Jodie Richards
	Cr Kate Cox
	Cr Jarrod Kennedy
	Cr Mikayla Love

OFFICERS	
Mr Tony Nottle	Chief Executive Officer
Mr Ben Whitehill	Manager Legal, Governance and Risk
Mr Tim Allingham	Manager Systems and Information
Ms Jo Barrett-Lennard	Governance Officer

APOLOGIES	
Cr Andrew Macnish	
Cr Richard Beecroft	

ELECTORS	NON-ELECTORS
94	13



3. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING

The purpose of the meeting was to hear the views of the electors in regard to the proposed implementing and construction of a Wind Turbine Farm in Geographe Bay.

During this part of the meeting the Mayor gave attendees an opportunity to make a short statement of up to five minutes.





4. MOTIONS BY ELECTORS

Motion 1

RESOLUTION

C2404/113 Moved Darren Glover, Seconded Darryl Taylor

The electors of the City of Busselton ask the Councillors and Mayor forward written correspondence to the following ministers within 14 days from this meeting for a thorough explanation why the Department of Climate Change, Energy, Environment and Water, have not followed their own internal due process, policies and procedures regarding the public consultation process.

Contact all relevant parties, departments and ministers, not limited to and including:

- Hon. Chris Bowen, Minister for Climate Change and Energy;
- Hon. Tanya Plibersek, Minister for Environment and Water;
- Hon. Reece Whitby, Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Action;
- Hon. Roger Cook, Premier, Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade, Public Sector Management, Federal and State Relations.

CARRIED

Motion 2

RESOLUTION

C2404/114 Moved Ruth Marshall, Seconded Darren Glover

That the Electors of the City of Busselton ask the elected Council and Mayor to write to the following ministers for a formal response regarding the following issues associated with the proposed offshore wind turbines, to communicate and strongly express concern regarding direct impact on businesses and tourism in the Busselton region.

I request the communications are sent to include, but not limited to:

- Hon. Don Farrell, Minister for Trade and Tourism;
- Hon. Julie Collins, Minister for Small Business;
- Hon. Roger Cook, Premier, Minister for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade;
- Hon. Stephen Dawson, Minister Assisting for State and Industry Development, Jobs and Trade.

CARRIED



Motion 3

RESOLUTION

C2404/115 Moved Martine Shepherd, Seconded Narelle Hopkins

The electors of the City of Busselton ask the Councillors and Mayor forward written correspondence to the following Ministers within 14 days of this meeting, for thorough explanation on how the Federal and State Governments can allow contraventions of the *EPBC Act 1999*, by the historical knowledge and documented evidence of harm and impact from Offshore Wind Turbine they have planned in Geographe Bay and the City of Busselton region. We the electors have done our due diligence in researching as local experts, professionals and scientifically qualified individuals, we do not support this proposal in any way in our ocean in Geographe Bay or throughout WA.

Correspondence to:

- Hon. Chris Bowen;
- Hon. Tania Plibersek;
- Hon. Reece Whitby;
- Hon. Roger Cook;
- Hon Murray Watt;
- Hon. Don Punch.

CARRIED

Motion 4

RESOLUTION

C2404/116 Moved Narelle Hopkins, Seconded Patty Pearce

The electors of the City of Busselton ask the Councillors and Mayor to forward correspondences to the following minister within 14 days for a full response regarding the Councils and Electors concerns on the following issues with the offshore wind turbine proposal direct impact on electors, businesses and visitors, real estate and development in the City of Busselton.

Contact all relevant parties, departments and ministers, not limited to and including:

- Hon. Catherine King, Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government;
- Hon. Murray Watt; Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry;
- Hon. Kristy McBain; Minster for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories.

CARRIED



Motion 5

RESOLUTION

C2404/117 Moved Bianca Hart, Seconded Mariah Goria

I motion that the City of Busselton sends a formal enquiry to the Federal government seeking clarity regarding the projected power output of the Leeuwin Off shore wind farm. Furthermore, we request information on whether this generated power is designated solely for intra-state consumption and if not, how much and what method will be used to distribute it.

CARRIED

Motion 6

RESOLUTION

C2404/118 Moved Mariah Goria, Seconded Martine Shepherd

- 1. Should the Council endorse the motions, we the residents of the City receive a copy of all correspondence sent to all listed Ministers and responses received, and a list of Ministers who did not respond. These letters are to be included in the next practicable 'Elected Members Bulletin' for the next Ordinary Council Meeting.
- 2. Should the Council endorse the motions, a survey of electors be undertaken to establish if there is a social licence for the wind farm.

CARRIED

5. CLOSURE

The meeting was closed at 7:14pm.

The minutes of the Special Electors Meeting held 24 April 2024 were confirmed as a true and correct record on:

Date: 26.2.25

Presiding Member: «